Stone Lion Building Ornament
These stone lion heads originally adorned the cornice of the Boatmen’s Bank Building in St. Louis, Missouri. The building was completed in 1914 by the architecture partnership of Eames and Young, one of the city’s most talented and influential early 20th century firms. The structure, which was later renamed the Marquette Building, was put on the National Register for Historic Places in 1998. The cornice had already been removed in 1957 for reasons of public safety.
The lion heads are adorned with large anthemions, and the faces themselves feature flowing manes, arched eyebrows, and snarling mouths. They are all in good condition with varying spots of wear. See additional photos for details. Four available; sold separately.
Country of origin: USA
Dimensions: 26" tall x 11" wide x 17“ deep
- Depth: 17 Width: 11 Height: 26
- Lead Time
- 0-3 Weeks (Limited Edition)
- Early 20th Century
- Eames & Young
About Architectural Antiques
We specialize in finding memorable vintage architectural objects that transform environments. Architectural Antiques helps create spaces that are unique, exciting, and complete with elements of history, artistic flair and personality.